= Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
Hong Kong, officially the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, is a territory located on China's south coast, bordering Guangdong in the north and the South China Sea in the east, west and south. The population of Hong Kong is over 6.96 million (2007). Along with Macau, Hong Kong is one of two special administrative regions of the People's Republic of China. Hong Kong was a dependent territory of the United Kingdom from 1842 until the transfer of its sovereignty to the People's Republic of China in 1997. Under the 'one country, two systems' policy, Hong Kong is not considered as part of Mainland China and remains largely self-governing, but defence and foreign affairs are the responsibility of the PRC government.